Using money to do good: The social impact of our projects

We describe ourselves as a social business. What does that mean? Using our efforts to achieve a balance between economic, ecological and social aspects. As a social dimension, sustainability has always formed part of our DNA from the very outset of our project, and it is the reason why we decided that our mission could not be purely ecological. 

[Translate to English:] Unsere Projekte schaffen soziale Perspektiven für die Menschen in Panama.
the-generation-forest-nachhaltig-aufforstungsprojekt-m1-social-impact

Working together for the common good: with Generation Forests for a better world

The economic approach behind our afforestation projects means we can create and sustain fair jobs over the long term. With our unique sustainable Generation Forests concept, we want to set a good example and show how climate protection, social impact and business can go hand-in-hand. For only with reforestation and commercial management is it possible to create fair jobs and genuine economic alternatives for the local people.

Intergenerational fairness: thinking about tomorrow, today

By uniting ecology, economics and social affairs, we can join together to ensure that investing with us also benefits future generations. In all of the activities we do today, we are already considering the consequences for the future. This is how we can make this a world in which future generations will prosper.

  • Baumschularbeiterinnen kümmern sich um Setzlinge.
01/0X

Together with indigenous communities

Panama is an emerging economy with great disparities between rich and poor. The large majority of people earning a living in Panama’s agriculture and forestry industry are of indigenous origin. Over the years, close collaboration and long-term partnerships have developed between indigenous communities and our partners.

For the local people: collaborating on an equal footing

Half of the agricultural workers in Panama have no employment contract, meaning they are not insured, have no right to work leave and scarcely any safety at their place of employment. We want to change this! We see it as fundamentally essential to improve the social circumstances of our local staff. Our economic afforestation model allows us to create fair and sustainable jobs. We pay guaranteed wages and social bonuses above the market rate. 

  • Baumschularbeiterin kümmert sich um Setzlinge.
01/0X

How many jobs are we able to create through the cooperative’s projects?

We have a forestry services provider who recruits workers for forestry work and our nursery. There are two types of contracts used here: permanent and fixed-term contracts (3 months or 10 months). The majority of temporary workers are hired for the planting season, after which some of them are retained to perform maintenance work and other activities. Since May 2022, some 53 new employees have been recruited for the cooperative’s afforestation projects. This year a total of 87 workers will be employed, including the administration and forestry workers. 

The afforestation activities, and especially those connected with cultivation, are not always the same. During the initial years, the cultivation is much more work-intensive before easing off over time, while other activities are only needed at certain times or under particular conditions (such as thinning work, which is only carried out some years).

We also factor in various economies of scale where a range of activities can be generally performed more efficiently, the larger the area.
It is due to these types of fluctuations that some of our forestry workers are hired on a seasonal basis. The majority of them come from the indigenous community of the Ngobe-Buglé and have already worked with our partner, Futuro Forestal.
In addition, some of our staff remain on-site all-year round to watch over the fincas, and control tree growth and any infestations etc.

How many jobs benefit indirectly from this (e.g. tree nursery, seed collection)?

We reckon that more than 80%, perhaps more, of this year's afforestation will be attributable to the cooperative. That means that our cooperative is generating considerable indirect benefits because the nursery delivers the saplings for the afforestation phase. Our nursery currently employs 30 nursery workers, the majority of whom are from the Emberá community of Piriatí, along with 4 administrative staff in the nursery.

We have contracted several teams for our seed collecting operation. One of the teams has 9 people (6 in Darien and 3 in Las Lajas) employed in the nursery), and there is an external team of 5 persons from the Emberá community of Arimae (close to other current cooperative projects taking place in Darién)
 

What are the wage levels?

The statutory minimum wage in Panama currently amounts to 1.91 US dollars per hour, or 15.28 US dollars per day.*We pay a daily wage of 23.77 US dollars, which is around one-and-a-half times the statutory rate. 

We also provide free accommodation to our employees. The camps in the fincas are equipped with kitchen, bathroom, water and solar power. In addition, each month we issue vouchers worth 50 US dollars for subsistence costs. This are provided within the camp and our local administration staff ensure that stocks are regularly checked and topped up as necessary.

We also take care of the transport to the camp and then back again after the season ends. Managerial staff are given mobile phone subscriptions so that they can perform their activities properly.

*El Salario Mínimo en Panamá - Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral (mitradel.gob.pa)

the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-lohnniveau-m4-social-impact
the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-Sozialversicherung-m5-social-impact

Social insurance

Medical, accident and pension insurance is a legal requirement in Panama. Nevertheless, there are numerous companies, especially in the agriculture and forestry industry, which fail to fulfil all their obligations here. Not so with us. All of our employees are registered for social insurance from the very first day.

Education and training opportunities

Our staff receive regular training and continuing education. Our programme includes subjects like the suitable handling of flora and fauna, protecting water resources, proper waste management within the camps, and well as continuing literacy education. Alongside that, we also conduct regular safety training for the prevention of accidents in the workplace.

the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-Sozialversicherung-weiterbildungsmoeglichkeiten-social-impact
the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-Sozialversicherung-m5-social-impact-1

Additional support

A large proportion of our seasonal workers come from indigenous communities who rarely have fair employment available in their vicinity. For many of them, the income they receive from our forestry projects is absolutely essential for feeding their families and relatives. However, our employees do not always have bank accounts, so we have a system for the direct payment of wages to their families. 

We also think that it is vitally important that indigenous communities have stable food sovereignty. This is why we reserve small areas of our project sites to enable them to cultivate their own food. 

Furthermore, we hope that our sustainable afforestation activities and the training opportunities we provide will have a long-lasting positive impact and give our employees good prospects for the future.

the-generation-forest-Broschuere-home

Your investment has a social impact

Our responsibility is growing – and to facilitate ecological change, tackle social inequalities and generate fair employment as well as equitable fair social conditions, we need people like you! Join our burgeoning community now, and together we can shape the future.

Make a social impact now
[Translate to English:] Baumschularbeiterin pflanzt Setzlinge ein.
the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-weiterbildungschance-social-impact

Afforestation as an opportunity for education and training!

“I want to flourish as part of the business. I want to become a skilled worker in this area. To achieve this, I am happy to learn more, and I want to be continuously educated, undertake training sessions; anything and everything.” 

Arnelio Herrera

Forestry workers from the Guna de Wagandí people.

Our responsibility as a social business: What we do differently

As a responsible social business, we regard it as self-evident that we should function like a role model. 
So, when it comes to the implementation of our projects, we are guided by the international Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and in doing so, we are making an important contribution to the global transformation. In concrete terms, our impact is directed towards the following SDGs:

Mit Geld Gutes tun: Der soziale Impact unserer Projekte

Wir bezeichnen uns selbst als Social Business. Was das heißt? Mit unserer Arbeit eine Balance zwischen ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Aspekten zu finden. Die soziale Dimension der Nachhaltigkeit war von Anfang an Teil der DNA unseres Projekts und der Grund dafür, dass wir uns gegen ein rein ökologisches Projekt entschieden haben.

Unsere Projekte schaffen soziale Perspektiven für die Menschen in Panama.
the-generation-forest-nachhaltig-aufforstungsprojekt-m1-social-impact

Gemeinsam fürs Gemeinwohl: Mit Generationenwäldern zu einer besseren Welt

Der wirtschaftliche Ansatz unserer Aufforstungsprojekte ermöglicht es uns, faire Jobs zu schaffen und diese langfristig zu erhalten. Mit dem einzigartigen Konzept unserer nachhaltigen Generationenwälder gehen wir als gutes Vorbild voran und zeigen, wie Klimaschutz, sozialer Impact und Wirtschaft Hand in Hand gehen. Denn nur eine Wiederaufforstung mit Bewirtschaftung schafft faire Jobs und echte wirtschaftliche Alternativen für die Menschen vor Ort.

Generationengerechtigkeit:
Heute schon an morgen denken

Mit der Verbindung von Ökologie, Ökonomie und Sozialem schaffen wir es gemeinsam, dass von einem Investment bei uns auch nachfolgende Generationen profitieren. Bei all unseren Handlungen denken wir schon heute an die Folgen für die Zukunft. So hinterlassen wir zukünftigen Generationen eine Welt, in der sie gut leben können.

  • Baumschularbeiterinnen kümmern sich um Setzlinge.

     

01/0X

Gemeinsam mit indigenen Gemeinschaften

Panama ist ein Schwellenland mit großen Unterschieden zwischen Arm und Reich. Der überwiegende Teil der Menschen, die in der panamaischen Land- und Forstwirtschaft ihr Geld verdienen, ist indigener Herkunft. Über die Jahre haben sich zwischen den indigenen Gemeinschaften und unseren Partnern eine enge Zusammenarbeit und langfristige Kooperationen entwickelt.

Eine Zusammenarbeit auf Augenhöhe

Die Hälfte der Landarbeiter:innen in Panama arbeitet ohne Arbeitsverträge und hat deshalb auch keine Versicherungen, keinen Urlaub und kaum Arbeitssicherheit. Das wollen wir ändern! Für uns ist es eine Herzensangelegenheit, die sozialen Umstände unserer Mitarbeitenden vor Ort zu verbessern. Unser wirtschaftliches Aufforstungsmodell ermöglicht es uns, faire und langfristige Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen. Wir zahlen gesicherte Löhne und Sozialboni, die über dem Marktniveau liegen.

  • Baumschularbeiterin kümmert sich um Setzlinge.

     

01/0X

Wie viele Arbeitsplätze können wir durch die Projekte der Genossenschaft schaffen?

Über unseren Forstdienstleister werden Arbeiter:innen für Forstarbeiten und die Baumschule eingestellt. Dafür gibt es zwei Arten von Verträgen: unbefristete und befristete Verträge (3 oder 10 Monate). Die meisten Zeitarbeitskräfte werden für die Pflanzsaison eingestellt und danach werden einige von ihnen für Wartungsarbeiten und andere Tätigkeiten weiterbeschäftigt. Seit Mai 2022 wurden 53 neue Mitarbeiter:innen für die Aufforstungen der Genossenschaft eingestellt. Insgesamt werden in diesem Jahr voraussichtlich 87 Mitarbeiter:innen über sie beschäftigt, einschließlich der Verwaltungs- und Forstmitarbeiter:innen.

Aktivitäten für Aufforstung und v. a. für die Pflege sind nicht immer gleich. Die Pflege ist in den ersten Jahren sehr viel arbeitsintensiver und wird dann mit der Zeit weniger und manche Aktivitäten sind nur zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten oder unter bestimmten Bedingungen erforderlich (z. B. Durchforstungen, die nur in bestimmten Jahren stattfinden).

Außerdem rechnen wir mit verschiedenen Skalierungseffekten, durch die verschiedene Aktivitäten im Allgemeinen effizienter ausgeführt werden können, je größer die Fläche ist. Aufgrund ebendieser Schwankungen sind einige unserer Forstarbeitenden saisonal eingestellt. Die meisten von ihnen stammen aus der indigenen Gemeinde Ngobe-Buglé und haben bereits mit unserem Partner Futuro Forestal zusammengearbeitet. Darüber hinaus bleibt ein Teil unseres Personals das ganze Jahr über vor Ort, um die Fincas zu überwachen, Baumwuchs und Schädlingsbefall zu kontrollieren etc.

Wie viele Arbeitsplätze profitieren indirekt davon (z. B. Baumschule, Saatgutsammlung)?

Wir gehen davon aus, dass mehr als 80 % der diesjährigen Aufforstung, möglicherweise sogar mehr, auf die Genossenschaft entfallen werden. Das bedeutet, dass ein erheblicher indirekter Nutzen von unserer Genossenschaft ausgeht, da die Baumschule die Setzlinge für die Aufforstungen liefert. Unsere Baumschule beschäftigt derzeit 30 Baumschularbeiter:innen, die meisten von ihnen Frauen aus der Emberá-Gemeinde Piriatí, und 4 Verwaltungsangestellte der Baumschule.

Für die Saatgutsammlung haben wir mehrere Teams unter Vertrag genommen. Ein von der Baumschule angestelltes Team von 9 Personen (6 in Darién und 3 in Las Lajas) sowie ein externes Team von 5 Personen aus der Emberá-Gemeinde Arimae (in der Nähe einiger Genossenschaftsprojekte in Darién).

Wie hoch ist das Lohnniveau?

Der gesetzliche Mindestlohn in Panama beträgt derzeit 1,91 US-Dollar pro Stunde bzw. 15,28 US-Dollar pro Tag.* Wir zahlen einen täglichen Lohn von 23,77 US-Dollar, das sind etwas mehr als eineinhalbmal so viel wie gesetzlich vorgeschrieben.

Außerdem stellen wir unseren Beschäftigten kostenlose Unterkünfte zur Verfügung. Die Camps auf den Fincas sind mit Küche, Badezimmer, Wasser und Solarstrom ausgestattet. Zusätzlich verteilen wir jeden Monat Gutscheine im Wert von 50 US-Dollar für die Verpflegung. Diese wird im Camp bereitgestellt und unser lokales Verwaltungspersonal sorgt dafür, dass die Vorräte regelmäßig überprüft und bei Bedarf aufgefüllt werden.

Der Transport zum Camp und nach der Saison zurück zum Heimatort wird ebenfalls von uns übernommen. Führungskräfte erhalten Mobilfunkabonnements, um ihren Tätigkeiten adäquat nachgehen zu können.

* El Salario Mínimo en Panamá. Ministerio de Trabajo y Desarrollo Laboral (mitradel.gob.pa).

the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-lohnniveau-m4-social-impact
the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-Sozialversicherung-m5-social-impact

Sozialversicherung

Der Abschluss einer Kranken-, Unfall- und Rentenversicherung ist in Panama gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Trotzdem gibt es viele Firmen, gerade in der Land- und Forstwirtschaft, die es in dieser Hinsicht nicht allzu genau nehmen. Bei uns ist das anders. Alle Mitarbeitenden sind bei uns vom ersten Moment an sozialversichert.

Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten

Unser Personal wird regelmäßig geschult und weiter ausgebildet. Unser Angebot umfasst Themen wie den richtigen Umgang mit Flora und Fauna, den Schutz von Wasserressourcen, korrektes Abfallmanagement in den Camps oder auch Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten im Bereich der Alphabetisierung. Zudem führen wir regelmäßige Sicherheitstrainings durch, um Arbeitsunfällen vorzubeugen.

the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-Sozialversicherung-weiterbildungsmoeglichkeiten-social-impact
the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-Sozialversicherung-m5-social-impact-1

Zusätzliche Unterstützung

Ein Großteil unserer Saisonkräfte stammt aus indigenen Gemeinden, in deren Umgebung faire Arbeitsplätze rar sind. Für viele von ihnen ist das Einkommen aus unseren Forstprojekten überlebenswichtig, um ihre Angehörigen ernähren zu können. Da unsere Mitarbeitenden allerdings nicht immer im Besitz eines Bankkontos sind, ermöglichen wir eine direkte Lohnauszahlung an ihre Familien.

Zudem liegt es uns am Herzen, die Ernährungssouveränität der indigenen Gemeinden zu stärken. Aus diesem Grund stellen wir kleine Bereiche unserer Projektflächen zur Verfügung, um Nahrungsmittel selber anbauen zu können.

Darüber hinaus hoffen wir, durch die nachhaltige Aufforstungsarbeit und die von uns angebotenen Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten einen positiven Effekt erzielen zu können, der lange Bestand hat und unseren Mitarbeitenden eine gute Zukunftsperspektive schenkt.

the-generation-forest-Broschuere-home

Dein Investment schafft sozialen Impact

Unsere Verantwortung wächst – und um einen ökologischen Wandel herbeizuführen, soziale Ungleichheiten zu bekämpfen und faire Jobs sowie gerechte soziale Bedingungen zu schaffen, braucht es Menschen wie dich! Schließ dich jetzt unserer wachsenden Community an und gestalte mit uns gemeinsam die Zukunft.

Jetzt soziale Wirkung schaffen
Baumschularbeiterin pflanzt Setzlinge ein.
the-generation-forest-arbeitsplaetze-weiterbildungschance-social-impact

Aufforstung als Weiterbildungschance!

„Ich möchte im Unternehmen wachsen. Ich möchte ein Fachmann auf dem Gebiet werden. Ich lerne gern dazu, möchte mich weiterbilden, Schulungen machen, einfach alles.“
 

Arnelio Herrera

Waldarbeiter aus dem Volk der Guna de Wagandí

Mit Geld Gutes tun: Der soziale Impact unserer Projekte

Wir bezeichnen uns selbst als verantwortungsvolles Social Business. Was das heißt? Mit unserer Arbeit unterstützen wir die Umsetzung der internationalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele, indem wir einen wichtigen Teil zum globalen Wandel beitragen. Dabei zahlt unser Impact auf SDGs ein, die das Wohl von Mensch und Umwelt als höchstes Ziel haben.